Whiskey Jac

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roasted Pumpkin Soup October 20, 2010

Filed under: HURRAY DUDES,NOMS — whiskeyjac @ 10:19 pm

I can’t remember where I found this recipe now! I had a second page w the link on it, but Éowyn coloured on it and it’s gone baby, gone.
I’ve made some vegetable purreed soups before but they never really did it for me – they’d taste swampy, or just plain wierd, and I’d have to have bread with every bite just to choke em down. I’d almost given up on finding a nice pureed veggie soup – but THIS one! This recipe was amazing, I think partly coz it’s so simple and only uses three veggies and stock. The other recipes I’d used were boiled vegetables – and too many of them. This was so simple!

8 medium cloves garlic, unpeeled
1 medium pumpkin (I used kabocha, which I’ve been told is The Best for soups and pie)
1 T butter
1 lg onion, finely chopped
1/2 t nutmeg
1 t cumin
Salt and Pepper, to taste
4 C chicken stock

Chop the pumpkin into even sized pieces. (This actually raised me a damn blister because I am a wilting violet) (holy fuck if I ever had to chop wood I’d die) (file me under *people you do not want with you during WWZ*) Toss the pumpkin and the garlic in a bowl with the melted butter and stir – then put them on a pan and bake them at 375 for about 20 mins. Take the garlic out so they don’t burn, and put the pumpkin back in until it’s cooked through. While that’s cooking squeeze the garlics out of their skin. Heat up a little oil or butter in a pot and throw the onions and spices in, cook for a minute or two then add the stock and the pumpkin. Bring those to a boil, then lower the heat to a simmer, add the garlics and cook for about 20 mins or until it’s thick enough to suit you. I simmered mine for about 30 minutes, then had to add… say… 2 cups? Of stock when I pureed it? Anyways, simmer it down and then let it cool for an hour or so then puree it! Easy peasy. And oh MAN. Next time I’m getting two pumpkins so I can eat half of the roasted stuff like I wanted to this time.

The baby wouldn’t even touch this stuff. Srsly, she saw the first little tidbit of pumpkin I offered her and threw herself down on the floor, screaming. When I served her the soup she almost cried. :-/ But we liked it a lot!

 

Leave a Reply

