Whiskey Jac

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Alphabet September 29, 2010

Filed under: family,HURRAY DUDES,lovelovelove,parenting — whiskeyjac @ 9:04 pm

I am seriously amazed that the baby seems to be learning her alphabet at age 2 years and 1 month. I’m not saying she’s a genius, I don’t swing that way, no no. Just… wow. She’s totally *into* it, too – so proud and has so much fun with it. She can recognize letters, pretends to write, knows the sounds they make… wow. I’m really proud and excited for her! 🙂

This is one from playgroup – I don’t usually take pictures there coz I don’t want to make anyone uncomfortable. She picked out her outfit for the day – which consisted of lime green leggings, purple socks, my plaid t-shirt, and the ribbon I use to tie back her curtain. She brought that last to me, saying “Belt? Belt?” And made sure to show the mums there that she had her own belt. I love this. So much.

 

2 Responses to “Alphabet”

  1. Kirsten Says:

    My son was this way too, at least with the alphabet. He never did care about clothes. I think the firstborns spend so much time with adults that they learn language faster- spoken and written.

    • whiskeyjac Says:

      Hi Kirsten! It’s funny to hear you say that – I’ve always heard that younger chilluns learn quick because they have the older one to look up to, but what you say makes sense for sure. I was talking to another mum today who has a girl about a year older than É and a younger daughter who is about 7 months and she says the older still gets about 70 to 80% of the attn. I always thought it would be the other way around, that the baby would be the one to get all that attention, that it’d be a bit of a juggle to get the older kid in sometimes. Watching them, and seeing how much time I spend with my kid at this age, I can see how it is different than I used to expect.
      I’m just so glad to see how she LIKES this stuff, it’s fun 🙂 I used to lovelovelove activity books with math and writing and stuff like that – are your guys into that? I was such a little teachers pet. I wonder what she’ll be like in school.


Leave a Reply

