Whiskey Jac

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Smoothie April 26, 2010

Filed under: NOMS — whiskeyjac @ 5:07 am


Blueberries, spinach, orange juice, milk, vanilla yogurt, and frozen honey dew.

Cat – I know you were quick to reject this but just try it, it was awesome. Hey, if you don’t try it, it’s ok! I’ll make it for you in a few weeks!!! I’ve been reading about smoothies and was interested in greening them so I figured I’d start by just adding some innocuous baby spinach.

Take a handfull of spinach and a splash of orange juice, whir those up together. I don’t usually process smoothies too long but after pulsing this on high speed I put it on a low setting while I got the other ingredients out, to really liquify the spinach. Then I added the yogurt, milk, blue berries, and melon.

It was really sweet! This was a nice, thin smoothie – I like those sometimes as they aren’t as filling as big milkshake smoothies. I would have added a carrot or two to this, if I’d had one, and a banana if I’d wanted to thicken it up.

I’ve planted some little starter strawberry bushes, and they seem to be doing well although they don’t produce berries until June. I have to pick the flowers off as they bloom – I’ve taken off two so far – so that they bear at the appropriate time. I’m also hoping to get a blueberry bush! Éowyn loves loves loves blueberries – and it’s kind of hit and miss with her and fruit sometimes, so I like being able to give her some plump berries full of vitamins and antioxidants for snacks instead FISHISH crackers, you know? Those things are baby crack and she’ll eat as many as I can give her – I think she’d eat them till she exploded if I let her. But yeah it would be nice to have a lot of blueberries in the yard – nothing would go to waste as I could just freeze the ones I didn’t use fresh and throw them in smoothies – they taste so nice but best of all they add that gorgeous colour to everything they touch.

That’s all for now!

 

2 Responses to “Smoothie”

  1. chaosmoon Says:

    You should set up a page on your site that’s just smoothie recipes. I’m looking forward to trying some of your blends, but our blender is already packed.

  2. whiskeyjac Says:

    Hi Julie! Nice to see you here 🙂 I don’t think I’m doing enough interesting smoothies to warrant their own page mostly I just like the colours, the bubbles, and saving the recipes for me and my mom! This one was really good though, I liked having spinach in it.


Leave a Reply

