Whiskey Jac

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Eats April 8, 2010

Filed under: NOMS — whiskeyjac @ 9:51 pm
Tags: ,

Smoothie of the day! Carrot, orange, frozen peaches, banana, blueberry yogurt, and milk. I added a tiny bit of vanilla coffee milk too – the kind that come in those nice colourful bottles that are made out of petroleum products? Mmmm. Just enough to taste the vanilla. Éowyn really liked this one 🙂 I’m so glad she’s started to drink smoothies! They are just jam packed with good fruit and veg and calcium and when she’s older and goes through persnickety picky phases I’m hoping I’ll be able to just whip up a smoothie that’ll meet her nutritional reqs. I’m not going to (try to) force my kid to eat something she doesn’t want to eat, but neither am I going to keep making her whatever she wants when she’s old enough to know better.

And a cookie recipe! I’m trying to get a nice healthful oatmeal cookie that tastes good and keeps well. This one ALMOST fit the bill.

Anyways, they were good and they were pretty, so here’s the recipe if you want to try them. Cat – they’re really not that sweet, you could just put raisins in and use unsweetened applesauce and I think they’d be ok for the boys? Super easy to make, the don’t take long and the dough isn’t hard to stir.

1 C WW flour
1 t baking soda
3/4 t salt
1/2 t allspice
2 t ea cinnamon & ginger

combine all the dry stuff

2 eggs
2 eggs
1/3 C veg oil
1 1/4 C applesauce (I don’t have applesauce on hand so I used mashed banana)
3/4 C brown sugar
1 T grated orange rind (anything that has orange rind in it is pretty fine in my books, this was pretty nice)
2 t vanilla
3 C Rogers Porridge Oats (nice large oats with oat and wheat bran, and flax seeds – I just got this stuff and I love it, it’s still quick to make but lots of texture)
1/2 C chopped almonds
1/2 C chopped walnuts
1/2 C chopped dates
1/2 C raisins

So mix up the eggs, veg oil, brown sugar and applesauce/banana. Add the rind, vanilla, oats, nuts, and mix the bowl of dry ingredients in. Add the dry fruit, scoop 1/4 cup servings onto the cookie sheet and flatten them down, and bake in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes.

They tasted great – I like that they had a lot of spice in them. In my world there’s no point in using cinnamon and nutmeg if you can’t TASTE it. I also thought the orange rind was really pretty and I’d even put more in next time. They were a little dry today… I think they needed just another 1/4 C of banana… or maybe some honey? I think I’ll add honey next time, a little more sweetness won’t kill them, and it won’t make them too runny either.

Hope everyone is having a good day! The weather here is a little patchy today – it SNOWED this morning and the sun is out in full force now – but I don’t think it will harm my strawberry plants since they haven’t bloomed yet. I’m feeling pretty lazy today – Éowyn and I spent a lot of time outside yesterday – we went to play group, visited her dad at work, walked down main street and back to the hop farm and then went to the park. We didn’t get home until 10 to 7 in the evening which is late considering her bedtime is 7:30 8:00. It’s nice to be able to go out like that and I’m glad to feel my legs getting strong again… and it sure does help us both sleep. But today we didn’t even last 10 minutes out in the yard before she had a huge tantrum over me saying no to something stupid and I just didn’t have the energy to argue. We came back inside and she watched Babe while I made lunch.

Ah well. Time to go!

 

2 Responses to “Eats”

  1. Gwen Styles Says:

    So do you have a juicer? I wanna put carrots in my smoothies but I’m worried I’d break my blender. Did I post a similar comment last time you wrote about smoothies? I’m having a real deja vu moment haha

    • Gwen Styles Says:

      Just found that last post and yes, you did answer this question for me. I must remember to check the “notify me” box at the bottom, WordPress is trickier than Xanga was!


Leave a Reply

