Whiskey Jac

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Baby, You Are The Meaning Of Impossibly Cute April 3, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — whiskeyjac @ 11:32 pm

I take Éowyn out for a walk almost every day. Sometimes we just hang out in the back yard and she toddles around playing with sticks (which she isn’t supposed to), and rocks, and leaves. She likes to show me the leaves, likes me to talk to her about them. I’m trying to get most of the big ugly rocks into a big pile in a corner of the yard, where I can leave them tidily (more or less) until I figure out how to get rid of them or put them to use. She helps me by picking up stray stones and putting them in the pile, or imitating my throwing them a few meters by throwing hers a few inches. It’s sweet, and she’s terrible at throwing of course but IS getting better at it and is really proud when she actually throws the stone FORWARDS for a change.

When I take her for walks in usually ends in tantrum because I eventually want to go back to the house, or want her to stay off the road, or don’t want her to pick something up or sit on her ass in a puddle. Lately it’s been getting better and she’ll either willingly follow me home or let me carry her. She’s getting interested in animals and is able to focus on and spot birds as small as chickadees now. Talking to her about the birds will sometimes calm her down when she doesn’t want to be carried. Sometimes I come home with 27 pounds of screaming in my arms.

But when we first set out. Oh lord. My heart just swells. She runs, she walks, she listens, she looks, she squats, she picks up – and then she looks for me. And she just SMILES. A big, sunny, and totally guileless face splitting grin. Then she gulps some fresh air and forges ahead. Or plops herself down. Or tries to run into traffic. Whatever.

I’m so lucky to have her in my life, I’m so very very lucky to be able to spend my days with her.

 

4 Responses to “Baby, You Are The Meaning Of Impossibly Cute”

  1. Nana Says:

    Yes, you are and so is she to have you!!
    So am I to have both of you!!!

  2. Gwen Styles Says:

    is it weird that i love her jacket and wish they made them in grown up sizes? lol

  3. whiskeyjac Says:

    Gwen –
    I’m pretty sure they make jackets just like that for adults. There’s nothing special about it, it’s just a green windbreaker with a line across the chest and a couple of tiny flowers on the breast. They probably sell jackets just like that at Walmart.

  4. Gwen Styles Says:

    Ugh, Walmart haha


Leave a Reply

