Whiskey Jac

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Broccoli and Cheddar Quiche February 25, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — whiskeyjac @ 11:48 pm
Tags: , , ,


(Look at my pie plate! I love it, my parents gave it to me along with two matching casserole dishes for my birthday this one year. Very Betty Crockerish Indeed!)

OK SO! There are a million things you can do with this kind of recipe I guess, so I’ll just say that this is how I make quiche. Or rather, how I made it today. It’s easy, it tastes good hot or cold, and it’s got lots of vegetables in it. And the baby likes it! So it’s a winner, even if it’s not fancy. Well, it’s a winner in large part because it ISN”T fancy, but you already know that about me. ONWARDS.

Here is what you need:

Bourbon.

OH NO WAIT THAT IS WHAT *I* NEED.

What You Need:

1 C chppd onion
1 C broccoli
1 C sliced mushrooms
1/2 C frozen peas
1/2 C grated carrot

5 eggs
1/3 C Mayonnaise
1/3 C milk
1 C grated cheddar cheese

1 pie crust
Ok! So i’m not a food snob by any means, but I *hate* the taste of a lot of ready made foods. I avoid them when I can, and pie crust is SO easy to make, and SO worth the trouble. I use this recipe and for things like this I’ll use WW flour, it’s hardier and a little more healthy. Right? It cancels out the lard!

So it’s easy, you just make the crust and lay in in the pie plate – I like it to be thick, so I cook it while the oven is preheating – about 5-10 mins.
You cook the onions a bit, add the broccoli when they’re soft, then turn the heat off and add the mushrooms and peas.
Crack the eggs into a bowl, add the mayo and milk and whisk. Stir in the vegetables (inc. carrots I don’t like to pre-cook those) and cheese and any meat or seasonings you like. This thing sucks when it’s bland so I use lots of salt, pepper, paprika, and garlic powder. I threw some left over ham in this and it was pretty nice.
THEN YOU POUR ALL THAT STUFF INTO THE PIE and bake for 40-45 mins at 375 degrees.

So this is how lunch time went:

1) Hmpf.


2) Hmmmmmmpf…


3) CHOMPF

4) HOMPF

5) NOMPF

THE END

 

One Response to “Broccoli and Cheddar Quiche”

  1. Nana Says:

    I am going to make this for the boys this week, even the pie crust!


Leave a Reply

