Whiskey Jac

Just another WordPress.com weblog

New Start January 11, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — whiskeyjac @ 10:34 pm
Tags: , ,


It’s early January. In the last year my child has turned one year old, we’ve moved from the Yukon where my parents met, my brother and I were born, where I met my husband and had my daughter. We have settled in a small town in the mountains of southern B.C. – my husband has a new job, we have bought our first house, are meeting new people, and of course our girl is growing up and doing new and amazing things almost every day.

Something about the way we lost 4 months of pictures and files due to a computer crash yesterday sorta makes me think of starting new.

I’ve blogged for years and years, but I rarely put much work into it. It’s always been the most informal of journals. I’ve “met” a lot of really wonderful, and wonderfully supportive people through my Xanga account but oddly enough it’s feeling too personal. I’m not putting any effort into it these days and I think it’s time to start fresh – and really make something interesting. Even if it’s only of interest to my family.

So! Hello to anyone who happens to read this –

I’m Jac, 24 years old and a chronically awkward, bitchy, displaced Yukoner who misses her home.

My husband is Stephen,

an old man at 30 – calm, analytical, geeky, sardonic, and one of the funniest, kindest, and most loving people I know. We can be pretty different in some ways, but I think we complement each other on the whole.

My daughter is Éowyn –

17 months old with a gaptoothed smile, curly blonde hair that defies any attempts to tame it, and the silliest sense of humour I’ve ever seen. She loves being outside, tickling everything in sight, tomatoes, cheese, Elvis Presley, jumping on the couch, and books. She hates cows.

Ok? So I’m gonna be working on this. I think it will take me a while to find my voice… I’m used to ignoring the caps key and spell check, swearing gratuitously, and letting pictures do all my talking in a lot of cases. This… is going to be a little more like work – and there’s nothing wrong with that. I think I need to make an effort towards something other than house keeping and mumming. I’m hoping that that attitude will bleed into other aspects of my life, but who knows how that’s going to work out.

 

5 Responses to “New Start”

  1. Stephen Williamson Says:

    O hai. 🙂

  2. Catherine Says:

    Good for you! Look forward to reading, as always.
    Love,
    Nana

  3. Tiffany Says:

    Glad to see you’re feeling good with the change. I’ll be bookmarking this page!

  4. Anna Says:

    Welcome! I like this new space of yours. I had the same feeling when I switched over – about actually thinking about content and doing a better job at writing.

    I’m so glad to see you here, Jac, and can’t wait to see/read what you share (though I always look forward to your posts, no matter where they are – I truly admire your candidness).


Leave a Reply

